More Than 100 South Australian Schools To Close On Wednesday Due To Catastrophic Fire Danger

Nov 19, 2019


More than 100 schools in South Australia will be closed on Wednesday as the state prepares for temperatures of up to 42 degrees and a significant risk of bushfires.

The announcement was made by the Department of Education late Tuesday. 

Authorities are warning South Australians to brace for what could be the state's hottest November day on record.

Total fire bans have been declared in 16 districts and no part of South Australia has a fire risk rating of lower than ‘severe’.

The regions that have been categorise as ‘severe’ are eastern and lower Eyre Peninsula, the Yorke Peninsula, the west coast, the Mid North, the Mount Lofty Ranges and Kangaroo Island.

Along with dry and hot conditions, some parts of the state may record winds of up to 60 kilometres per hour.

A large air tanker from New South Wales is on standby to fly to South Australia if a fire does break out.

The list of schools closed to due bushfire risk is below. Stay tuned to the Department of Education’s website and social media accounts for any changes.

Eastern Eyre
Cleve Area School
Cleve District Children's Centre
Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Community Education*
Kangaroo Island CS Kingscote*
Parndana Campus
Penneshaw Kindergarten*
Lower Eyre
Bishop Kindergarten*
Kirton Point Children's Centre*
Kirton Point Primary School*
Lake Wangary School
Lincoln Gardens Primary School
Poonindie Community Learning Centre
Poonindie Early Childhood Centre
Port Lincoln Children's Centre
Port Lincoln Special School
Ungarra Primary School
Mid North
Blyth Primary School*
Booborowie Primary School
Brinkworth Primary School
Burra Community School
Burra Early Learning Centre
Clare High School
Clare Primary School
Clare Valley Children's Centre
Eudunda Community Preschool
Gladstone Primary School
Koolunga Primary School
Manoora Primary School
Napperby Primary School
Saddleworth Early Learning Centre
Saddleworth Primary School
Snowtown Primary School
Spalding Primary School
Tarlee Primary School
Mount Lofty Ranges
Aldgate Kindergarten Inc
Aldgate Primary School
Arbury Park Outdoor School
Basket Range Primary School
Belair Jean Bonython Kindergarten
Belair Primary School
Birdwood High School
Birdwood Primary School
Blackwood Kindergarten
Blackwood Primary School
Bridgewater Kindergarten Inc
Bridgewater Primary School
Clarendon Kindergarten
Clarendon Primary School
Coromandel Valley Kindergarten
Coromandel Valley Primary School
Crafers Primary School
Craigburn Primary School
Echunga Primary School
Eden Hills Kindergarten
Eden Hills Primary School
Evanston Gardens Primary School
Flagstaff Hill Kindergarten
Flagstaff Hill R-7 School
Flagstaff Oval Kindergarten
Gumeracha Primary School
Hahndorf Primary School
Hawthorndene Kindergarten
Hawthorndene Primary School
Heathfield High School
Heathfield Primary School
Kangarilla Primary School
Kathleen Mellor Preschool Kgtn
Kersbrook Primary School
Lenswood Primary School
Lobethal Community Kindergarten
Lobethal Primary School
Macclesfield Primary School
Mount Barker Kindergarten Inc
Mount Barker Primary School
Mount Compass Area School
Mount Compass Preschool Centre
Mount Pleasant & District Kgtn*
Mount Pleasant Primary School
Mylor Primary School
Nairne Primary School
Norton Summit Primary School
Oakbank Area School + OSHC*
One Tree Hill Primary School
Paracombe Primary School
Rapid Bay Primary School
Sandy Creek Primary School
Scott Creek Primary School
Springton Primary School*
Stirling District Kindergarten
Stirling East Kindergarten
Stirling East Primary School
Tea Tree Gully Primary School
Torrens Valley Children's Centre*
Upper Sturt Primary School
Williamstown Primary School
Woodside Preschool Playcentre*
Woodside Primary School*
Yankalilla Area School
Yankalilla Community Children's Ctr
West Coast
Elliston Area School
Karcultaby Area School
Koonibba Aboriginal School and CPC*
Lock Area School
Miltaburra Area School
Yorke Peninsula
Bute Primary School
Moonta Area School
Moonta Kindergarten
Port Broughton Area School
Port Broughton Kindergarten
Wallaroo Mines Primary School
Yorketown Area School